Revenue Target revisited

In his plan for 2006 Ben Bleikamp stated

I’m going to develop a new blog in January or Feburary to flip, my goal is $3,000 in 2 months.  It will require quite a bit of work with writing content, optimizing ads, and some SEO, but I think it’s possible.

That really put my revenue target into question. I am targeting $1000/month in a year and he is aiming $1500/month average in 2 months.

This is by no mean a “so can I” comparison but rather whether I am setting too low a target and under-achieving. Keep in mind that Ben certainly had much more experience. Can I acquire that in a year?

With just one week into the year, I will stay on course and review this again.

4 Comments »

  1. LcF said

    start a new blog from scratch and earn $3000 in 2 months? it is not possible if it does not get enough traffic at the beginning. The SEO takes time, 2 months is not enough. Except, his new blog get enough media coverage.

  2. Ben said

    Thanks for mentioning me 🙂

    And I’m not expecting to make $3,000 from the blog’s advertising, my plan is to sell the blog for $3,000. That means I’ll need to hit the $150-$300 a month range from AdSense or Y!PN very quickly, which is “easy” if you pick the right topics to write about.

    I have a “few” websites that I can post the URL on to get links going to the site and get it indexed very quickly.

  3. 59ideas said

    Ah! Thanks for clarifying. From what I know a site generating $150 a month would be worth more than $3,000.

    This is not a bad idea. 🙂

    Good luck and post your success soon!

  4. […] Revenue Target revisited (College Startup) […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

